Swing-A-Nova“Swing-A-Nova,” the newest album from the Verve Jazz Ensemble, features toe-tapping VJE trio and quartet performances of 10 straight ahead bop and classic bossa / Latin jazz favorites. The album gives the VJE rhythm section of Josh Feldstein (drums), Steve Einerson (piano), and Elias Bailey (bass) the spotlight as a trio, and includes high energy, uptempo performances of such great swingers as “‘Tis Autumn” and “Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered,” together with vibrant Latin performances of Dizzy Gillespie’s “Tin Tin Deo,” “This I Dig of You” by Hank Mobley, “Speak No Evil,” by Wayne Shorter, and many more favorites and standards. 

From chill sambas to steamy mambos, the trio is joined by the soaring trumpet of Tatum Greenblatt on tracks 3, 4, and 9. “Swing-A-Nova” delivers a great array of signature VJE grooves, tempos, solos, and performances — both swingers and Latin — by the always jubilant Verve Jazz Ensemble!

Released nationally to US Jazz Radio on September 18, “Swing-A-Nova” is the VJE’s fourth album, and follows their three prior, chart-toping releases, “It’s About Time” (JazzWeek #5, 2013), “East End Sojourn” (#8, 2014), and “Perimeter” (#21, 2016). 

Available now on CD Baby, Amazon and iTunes!

Click here to purchase.

Track Listing

‘Tis Autumn…4:21

Tin Tin Deo…5:35

From This Moment On…3:47

You Stepped Out of a Dream…4:28

Speak No Evil…5:01

Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered…3:27

I Cover the Waterfront…5:06

This I Dig of You…3:25

Tones for Joan’s Bones…5:07

Nica’s Dream…4:43